Poets logo

The Silence

Deep In Thought

By Alyssa McKinziePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Set aside in the silence

I can hear the giggle of small children

The voices and the conversations of many passed

The clinking of the glass of parties come and gone

In the silence, I hear the footsteps

Some small, some big, some soft

They float up from the carpets and rugs

To hang in the air aloft

The most deafening in the silence are the memories

Of futures not yet lived

Of love not yet given

Of moments never to be seen

They linger like lost dreams

In the silence, music plays

Through the night and through the days

A radio, a piano, a flute

Me ears have become astute

To the many sounds and rhythms and melodies

In the silence

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alyssa McKinzie

I was young when I discovered my writing voice. When the early symptoms or carpal tunnel started to ravage my hands, I paused my work. Now I am determined to rediscover my passion regardless of the pain and I am in love with it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.