Poets logo

A House Of Bones

A somber poem

By Alyssa McKinziePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A House Of Bones
Photo by Kristi Johnson on Unsplash

In this house of bones

I sit among my trappings

Staring into the abyss

Watching the sun pass me by

Hoping that every tear that falls

Will be the last that I cry

There are voices in the halls

Footsteps on the stairs

But when I check around

I find no one is there

In this house of bones

There are the belongings of others

Of fathers and mothers

The three dead little brothers

They're the ghosts of the house

The previous owners of the bones

And this is the house we all live in

In life they called it home

In this house of bones

Lies a gray felt blanket

In a room so lonely

Touched only by the sun

It peers through the glass

Looking for the owner

But there are only bones

And the owner is gone

I once called it home

This big house of bones

But now it will be my grave

For inside I am dying

With every tear I'm crying

With every day that's passing

My soul grays more and more

I am poked and prodded

Stabbed and gutted

Strangled by thoughts

Crushed by memories

With faces in every corner

And shadows in every door

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alyssa McKinzie

I was young when I discovered my writing voice. When the early symptoms or carpal tunnel started to ravage my hands, I paused my work. Now I am determined to rediscover my passion regardless of the pain and I am in love with it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.