Poets logo

The Silence Between Us

To my husband: I miss you.

By Esmoore ShurpitPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo of author and husband by Ren Lenhof from Studio 29 Photography

When the silence between us breathes naturally

And my mind does not speak

Does not race

Does not need

>

For the contrast of our skin

The difference of our hair, kinky or silk

Eyes of hazel versus brown

Grays between the area of familiarity

The ease with how our thighs touch

You learned me like I know you

A gentle understanding

Unspoken conversations

Just you and me

>

Your presence quenches my anxiety

An antidote to the venomous revolving sentences

That lace together with the quickening of my heartbeat

My body set aflame and breath hitches

But with you, fight or flight disappears

With you, I melt into the core of your being

Inebriated by the gentle nature of your voice

Your soft touch, sarcasm, and humor

Remedies my brooding no matter how inappropriate

Because my calm is patient to your whining

And when we lapse to the point of the end

Of nothing else that can be said

We sit quietly with shy smiles

Such unfamiliarity in sudden moments

But I stay grounded in the electricity

And I know it’s fine

It’s okay because

>

The silence between us breathes naturally

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Esmoore Shurpit

I like writing bad stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Esmoore Shurpit is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.