Poets logo

Grieving in Peaches Form

For you B

By Esmoore ShurpitPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Artwork by author

Warning: Mentions of suicide.

Soft yellow flesh

Sweet summer dreams

Peachy North Carolina heat

*

I thought about you today

-

While slicing up oozing peach halves

To refrigerate for my teething son

-

You liked his pictures

Two-week-old him

Donning baby blues

Sleepy newborn delirium

In his infant car seat

-

Somewhere along there you decided your end

-

Near February’s end

I held my son a little tighter in my arms

Only one month old

I sobbed on video chat as my mother cried

“I don’t think he did it”

-

I’ll never forget wondering about your father’s post earlier that day

-

B answer your phone

-

Where did we fail?

Where did we go wrong?

-

Grandma used to cart us around in her purple Camry

Summers full of farmers’ market peach baskets

*

Pinky yellow fuzzy skin

Sticky trail of saccharine

Our childhood memories

*

I dreamt about you a lot

-

It was always me

Me screaming at the sky

asking “why?”

-

I wished a lot of things

We all wondered

-

Dark US Airforce planes from takeoff and touch down

My mom and I thought of you

From Milwaukee to Charlotte

I cried holding my baby in my arms

Sleeping to the rumble of the plane

Back in the North Carolina humid heat

Maybe I could finally grieve properly

-

“I’m still trying to figure out why the fuck B killed himself”

My uncle, your father, quenched our denial

I sat there at G’s kitchen table

Fallen silent at the new information learned

My family passed my son around

Almost six months old

Awake, alert, smiling with dimpled gums

-

I wish you could have seen him

I wish I could have seen you in person one last time

-

Now grandma’s arms are thinner

Loose skin and lost teeth

Grandpa’s been gone for a long time too

Maybe you’ve seen him up there

Your little brother was missing from the scene

Even though we said we needed to get together more as a family

-

Somewhere along back in the Midwest

I had another dream of you

Me screaming at the sky

Declaring my acceptance of your passing

*

Squishy smooth supple fruit

Hard bumpy pit all removed

The end of our memories

*

But I’ll never forget you.

Note: I wrote parts of this poem months ago before finalizing and sat on it for a while. At first, I debated whether to post it or not, but something urged me to post it when I did. I had a heavy heart, the sadness I felt for different reasons, personal to my own, but it was time to post it. I didn't realize it was World Suicide Prevention Day when I did.

If you're struggling mentally and feel hopeless please reach out to someone. To a family member, or friend, or even the new 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Esmoore Shurpit

I like writing bad stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Esmoore Shurpit is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.