Poets logo

The Shadow Of The Night

What children may get up to in the small hours of the night...

By Niall James BradleyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Shadow Of The Night
Photo by Bastien Jaillot on Unsplash

I must have been reading for too much Peter Pan, because I'm not sure where this one came from: a dream or a nightmare...

The Shadow Of The Night

In the shadow of a greater power,

As diurnal parents sleep,

Nocturnal siblings leave their cots,

And pagan rituals keep.

With powder-painted faces,

And feathers in their hair,

They dance in silent circles,

And ritual magic share.

While their hands hold high its stuffing,

A teddy lies prone on the floor,

Sacrificed to end, the adult reign,

And let children rule once more.

Then upon a fire of torches,

Their toy creatures they set light,

While their parents sleep unknowing in,

The gentle comfort of the night.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Niall James Bradley

I am a teacher who lives in the north west of England. I write about many subjects, but mainly I write non-fiction about things that interest me, fiction about what comes into my head and poetry about how I feel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.