Poets logo

Christmas Song: Free To A Good Home

Can you put my lyrics to music and make a Christmas hit!

By Niall James BradleyPublished about a year ago Updated 5 months ago 2 min read
2
Christmas Song: Free To A Good Home
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Since September, my wife has been subjecting me to a daily diet of Christmas films. She found a channel last year which showed nothing but Christmas films in the run up to Christmas and during the festive holiday. This year, she found that the channel was actually beginning showing Christmas films from the end of September! I have already, a month short of the day itself, seen more Christmas films than I ever thought could possibly exist.

From this surfeit of Christmas joy, I have penned a festive song. However, I am not musical, so am posting it out there for anyone who would like to set it to music. It is copyright free, so alter it as you see fit and I hope it is a hit for you.

Another Christmas Film

In the dying days of September,

As the summer sun is starting to fade,

On a distant television channel somewhere,

A flurry of Christmas films begins to play.

As the leaves on the trees are still turning,

From summer green to autumn red,

The films show Santa upon his sleigh,

Bringing present to children, tucked in their bed.

Chorus

I’m watching another Christmas film,

The one where they cut down their own Christmas tree,

The one where their house is a snow-clad mansion,

And the main couple kiss in the final scene.

These films are all entirely American,

Set often in small towns, I’ve never before seen,

Though the films seem to be made by Canadians,

Promoting mountains and snow and the American dream

Of a home the size of a mansion,

Lit up so bright, you can see it from space,

With everyone wearing their own special jumper,

And a furnace blazing in a huge fireplace.

Chorus

Bridge

And their baking, their baking for Christmas,

Everyone has their own secret recipe,

Their dressing, their dressing for Christmas,

Everyone has an heirloom, to hang on the tree!

There is always a haggard work-a-holic,

Who needs to decide between career or family,

There is always a wedding at Christmas,

A wedding? On Christmas Day? Can that really be?

There’s a girl who can’t find her sweetheart,

There’s a man, who can’t remember his own family,

But it’s always resolved, by the end of the film,

With the beautiful couple, kissing next to the tree!

Chorus

P.S. I didn't get in a Santa who grants a wish, any elves (evil or otherwise), candy canes or eggnog!

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Niall James Bradley

I am a teacher who lives in the north west of England. I write about many subjects, but mainly I write non-fiction about things that interest me, fiction about what comes into my head and poetry about how I feel.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    These movies are the Harlequin novels of fim

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.