Poets logo

the same wavelength

≈≈≈≈≈

By Brin J.Published 2 months ago 2 min read
12

You were something else.

Something that was so far from what I was familiar with.

You had a fierce and powerful nature about you;

an untamable spirit that lived and breathed on the edge of everything,

possessing a charisma that was unparalleled.

One that was so intoxicating and alluring,

that people easily gravitated to you,

as if you were the epicenter of their existence.

Whereas I preferred the quieter, less exposed side of life.

I was used to the shadows and the way they cast their own sort of silhouettes.

I befriended the silent trees, the winking stars, and the dancing rain,

appreciating the peace and calm they offered.

I was a recluse by nature,

needing time alone to recharge and reflect on what was happening around me.

And yet, we found ourselves on the same wavelength, you and I.

A shared sense of desire and yearning for something more.

There was something in you that I could not identify with, yet I wanted to.

And there was something in me you wanted to lose yourself in,

as if I was some sort of escape from your reality.

We couldn't be more different.

Souls from opposite ends of the spectrum.

It was romantic in a way, when you looked at it from a distance.

But up close, it was a very different story.

Reaching for you was like grasping at the wind, with no hope of catching it.

You'd attempt to coax me into the light, but my inclination was to withdraw into the safety of my shadows.

Despite our conflicting natures, we made a deliberate effort.

We opened each other's eyes to a level of passion we never even thought was possible.

Even though it was exhilarating...

we didn't fit in each other's worlds.

I knew this.

But, if this were the only moment we were granted,

then we could pretend that it would last forever.

sad poetrylove poemsGratitude
12

About the Creator

Brin J.

I have a few stories and poems inside me that I want to share. Maybe, if I'm lucky, they'll reach people who'll enjoy them. 📖

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • D. J. Reddallabout a month ago

    Your persona is eloquently candid and direct. Too many reject difference, and even if it does not yield abiding joy, it can be exciting and edifying. You caught that neatly herein.

  • We once knew a pastor & wife where he was somewhat introverted & she was a full-blown extrovert. Alas, but it didn't last. Eventually the church keyboard player caught him by the organ where he found he was much more comfortable. (True story.)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    "Souls from opposite ends of the spectrum". That line hit me so hard. But does that still count as soul mates or twin flames? Loved your poem!

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Great poem! Wavelengths is a fitting image, like two that cross but inevitably continue on their separate trajectories!

  • Jazzy about a month ago

    Mmmmm my heart, reminds me of so many of my own stories, but like you I am glad to have just that moment. Very well done!!!

  • K. Kocheryanabout a month ago

    Lovely poem. My favorite line was "Reaching for you was like grasping at the wind, with no hope of catching it." I've felt that in a whole bunch of different ways.

  • So beautiful and relatable 🤍✨🙏

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    Oh goodness, this was beautifully written, Brin! And I felt it all. I've met and been in or wanted to be in relationships with that person that pulled in all the air around them like collapsing stars. I loved this so much :)

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Powerful and thought provoking

  • Mark Graham2 months ago

    The ins and outs and ups and downs of relationships it seems.

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    The tension between fitting and jarring here is great.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.