Poets logo

THE ROAD BACK TO NORMAL

The year 2020, will certainly be A time to remember,

By Tammy WellsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
When Australia went into lock down, all of a sudden my thoughts started rhyming, so I wrote a poem ... and then I wrote another ... and another - this is poem # 8

THE ROAD BACK TO NORMAL

The year 2020, will certainly be

A time to remember, and for us to see

Our prior behaviour, could have been better

We need to learn from this, and keep working together

Some of the restrictions, are now being relaxed

But we need to stay vigilant, and not get slack

The cafés and bars, are allowed to be open

You need to book first … and only 10 can go in

Only 10 at a time, but better than nothing

For the time being … THIS is the new thing

Now that we can go back, to the cafes and bars

Can we use public transport ? Or just drive our cars ?

Looking forward to attending Acting Classes again

So, when casting re-starts – I’ll be ready, my friend

The road back to normal … will be challenging … and long

There is sure to be a Movie … and also … a Song

So many things, are still up in the air

We can only just wait, and try not, to despair

My poems, reflect, how I feel, at the time

Helping me, to not, go out of my mind

The boredom, the worry, the struggle, is there

It’s important, to let those you love, know you care

We need to appreciate, our old way of life

So … when we move forward … we stay out of strife

I know, the whole situation, seems so unreal

Please … find a positive way, to express how you feel

Talk to your family … talk to your friends

And soon … I hope, soon … the lockdown will end.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.