Poets logo

The Right Kind of [insert minority]

[gay, woman, PoC]

By Melissa in the BluePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The Right Kind of Gay™ celebrates pride

But only in the month of June

Then they put their rainbows away

The Wrong Kind of Gay™ wears rainbows all year round

Or maybe refuses to go on a parade

You can't celebrate when you want

You can't choose to live your life as if you were no different to the Straights

You have to celebrate, in the month of June

Or else you are a traitor.

***

The Right Kind of Woman™ laughs at a lewd joke

Anecdotes of her boss' strip club days

Or compliments on her [insert]

But she is still docile and sweet

She accentuates her assets

And wears makeup

(but not too much, men don't like that)

The Wrong Kind of Woman™ cracks the lewd jokes

She thinks she's one of the boys

God, who does she think she is anyways?

Doesn't she get that men and women have different roles?

And that different doesn't mean unequal

Why can't she just be like all the other girls?

***

The Right Kind of PoC™ is light skinned

(But not Too Light Skinned)

They have to be visibly different, to add diversity points

They rally around causes against their own kind

To show how much more civilised they are

Compared to their mothers and fathers

But they turn a blind eye towards the short comings of the people around them

The Wrong Kind of PoC™

Is proud of their heritage

And call people out for their racist behaviour

They eat their ethnic foods

Even tripe and trotters and all

***

Dear god I'm tired of writing

The right way to express my identities

I am all of these things, and none

I am so, so wrong

My existence is so wrong

I express it all wrong

I am wrong

I should not exist

Not the way I am

And yet, I do

And thus, my mere existence

is revolutionary

If you like my writing, consider giving me a follow on Instagram to find book reviews, writing, and whatever else pops in my head!

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Melissa in the Blue

hold my hand and we can jump straight into the cold unloving sea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.