Poets logo

The Returning Hero

An Entry To Poppy's Prompts - March Edition

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
14
The Returning Hero
Photo by Selwyn van Haaren on Unsplash

All hail the conquering hero,

From the land of below zero.

 

Footprints like a snowy mould,

Aches and pains from growing old.

 

A vanilla backdrop I left behind.

Hating the moral compass in my mind.

 

My body is like shattered ice,

A spiderweb of cracks over thrice.

 

I trudge onward, towards the end.

For the homes, I must defend.

 

No hope in sight,

I watch the fading light.

 

The snow continues to swirl,

My brow will never unfurl.

 

A hero no more.

I fall to the floor.

 

Hating my duty to shovel the walk,

When I hear my old neighbour’s knock.

 

Calling me to shovel more snow,

I’m labelled as their returning hero.

social commentaryFor Funfact or fiction
14

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Haha. No rest for the wicked shoveller.

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    "Hating the moral compass in my mind" really struck deep for me lol. I've been told goodness knows how many times that I would make an excellent Paladin, what with the iron strong moral compass I've got. Though I'm not sure about that, I certainly let that dratted compass get me into more than a few scrapes lol. This poem was awesome, Donna! Personally, I actually quite enjoy shoveling snow. But then I also like doing dishes, so maybe I'm just broken haha.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    This took my far away to different theatres and then back to domestic drudgery!

  • Poppy 3 months ago

    I love the premise of this poem and how you carried it out so well. "My body is like shattered ice, A spiderweb of cracks over thrice." Was an especially awesome couple of lines! Really well done Donna!

  • Oh he's definitely a hero in my eyes. I'll just straight up drop dead in winter because I cannot stand the cold. So someone who gets rid of some snow would truly be a hero for me! Loved your take on Poppy's Prompts!

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    No good deed goes unpunished.

  • Andrei Z.3 months ago

    Such an epic tale! :D Honestly, I'm kinda missing my shoveling days.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Ah the neighbourhood snow day. You nailed it

  • Kelsey Clarey3 months ago

    This is great! Definitely reminds me of many afternoons spent trying to dig out my neighbour's house!

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Love it, H! It's so much easier to be a hero if you own a snow blower!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.