Poets logo

The Monster of Aneh-ta

A Concrete- Epic

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 2 min read
9
The Monster of Aneh-ta
Photo by Dan Asaki on Unsplash

Leaving the Oracle’s temples, I pull my hood          up and rub the velvet ruby-red material      against my cheek. I wipe        the tears away as I sign to soothe                      my nerves and to kill the            beast that killed my fiancé. The                                                                     whisper of the oracle still lingers in my ears as I           march through the           woods in search of the labyrinth that holds the           Monster of Aneh-ta.                 Damien took on a quest himself to                      bring back the creature's         head but failed and, as a result,         lost his life. I refuse to face such a             fate myself, so now I march          with the sole intent of bringing back        the beast’s head and                     saving our noble city from its wrath.         As I get closer                to the labyrinth,             I hear the serenade            of the waterfall           that guards it. I              round the corner and        my jaw drops at the sight before me. I                                                              watch this modest waterfall cascade into the           small river below it. I expected a loud roaring presence but am met          by this peaceful place. It almost shakes my resolve to where I had to       fight not to turn around and go home. But at                                                                                  that moment, the sun shines         down on the clearing and I am                awash in this peaceful glow           that the sun’s warmth provides.             I raise my hands and embrace the      warm light with a sigh of soothing        calmness, and suddenly I feel a                                                                            weight drop into my hands. I open my eyes to find the legendary sword         or Swin in my hands. It                        glows with an                                         effervescence that brings me all        the courage I            need to do what I must. I mutter a few words of                                                  thanks to Athena as she strengthens my resolve.         Then begin to march toward the waterfall, prepared to face the                 enigma that is the Monster of Aneh-ta. The flickering torchlight                 allows my eyes to adjust               more easily as I enter the maze below                                                                  the waterfall, and I swallow the last of fear in preparation          for my coming battle. It appears the beast                                                         has been waiting for me as I round the first           corner and encounter it. Suddenly, the beast roars and my velvet hood          comes off as its green breath clouds my vision. In the blink of an eye, I          put my faith in Athena and she guides the sword to victory, killing the          monster of Aneh-ta and saving our city.

 

Authors Note:

I was trying something new here… An Epic which is supposed to be a poem that tells a heroic tale. And a Concrete which is a poem that is in a specific shape, so I tried to make this poem in the shape of a labyrinth.

I would also love any feedback that any of you have to offer regarding this piece.

**For those of you redaing this by phone, here is a screen shot of my poem to be a labyrinth shape:

heartbreakFree VerseFor Fun
9

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic3 months ago

    This looks incredibly difficult to do, so I commend you for executing the shape of this poem so well! Amazing!

  • Oooo, when the sword dropped onto her hands, it reminded me of the Sword of Gryffindor! That was so cool! The word labyrinth didn't ring a bell. Then I saw serenade. Then cascade and that's when I realised this was for Randy's challenge! You're so brilliant! I'm reading this on my phone so the labyrinth didn't really take the shape that I think you intended it to. I'm so sorry D. Also, I didn't know what concrete poems were so I learned a new thing today! Your epic was epic and I freaking loved it!

  • Beautiful. I love it!

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    If you hadn't told me it was a poem I would never have known. Snuck one by me you little devil you! The structure is unique and I could see the walls forming as I continued to read along. Interesting concept!

  • Thavien Yliaster3 months ago

    It reminds me of iambic pentameter. Like, think about a lot of Shakespeare's works such as Macbeth. I wonder how differently it looks on a computer screen than a phone screen. I know some people organize their words to take artistic shapes. I was wondering if there's a hidden message in this labyrinth of a poem.

  • Liam Storm3 months ago

    Amazing work! It's clear you spent time on this piece, a great read!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I confess I dont know what a concrete poem is, but it reads more like prose than a poem?

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Nice! Reads like a TOR fantasy! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.