Poets logo

Sandcastles

The postcard never came.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 3 months ago 1 min read
18
Sandcastles
Photo by Ahmed Nishaath on Unsplash

The following is an acrostic/ elegy poem with the word Sandcastles for Poppy’s Prompts #2.

Sirens blare

And everyone runs.

No one knows the

Destruction that’s

Coming.

A wind chime

Sound

The

Last alarm before

Everyone is

Sent to an early grave.

Free Versefact or fictionElegyAcrostic
18

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Congratulations

  • Congratulations on your Honourable mention on the Leaderboard!✅

  • That is friggin' awesome! Well done!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Congratulationson Honorable mention

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Ooooh this is an original take on sandcastles! Eerie, and what an ending. "Before everyone is sent to an early grave"- nature is incredibly powerful and we are lucky to not often see this side of it.

  • Oh wow this was so good! Good luck in Poppy’s challenge

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Nicely done!🥰

  • Dearest Donna!!😳 I am throwing myself on my knees, begging your mercy! It has belatedly come to my attention that I have dim wittedly plagiarised your beautiful Sandcastles acrostic poem!😵‍💫 I read, appreciated and commented on it… then two days later thought… I’d like to write a happy poem about my childhood holidays at the beach. What style of poem will I write? Why not an acrostic? Clearly my short term working memory was defunct! So sorry! I would edit my poem & acknowledge my subconscious inspiration from yours, but I’m currently a cheapskate & can’t easily edit it.😬 I’ll add a comment on my poem & also Poppy’s Feb. prompts. Hoping these measures are sufficient to make amends.🙃

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    This one clangs like the alarm you write about, and the picture is perfectly chosen 😁

  • Poppy 3 months ago

    Ooooh so eery!! I love the super impactful ending especially!!

  • Yayyyyyy, everyone's dead! Hehehehehehehe! Also, this was soooo freaking creative of you! I don't think anyone else did an acrostic for Poppy's prompts! Such a unique direction you went with here! I loved it so much!

  • Beautifully sad!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I've got that story about the men building their houses on the sand and the rock in my head.

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Well done!

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Wow, H! You built a real sense of urgency, then despair, with very few words. Not to mention we're left a little unsure of the cause - tsunami, nuclear war, etc. Well done!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    This was great, you built a sense of urgency and doom in few words, but all powerfully written Two thumbs up

  • Mother Combs3 months ago

    great acrostic

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    Ooh i like this! Every word holds power.

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    Oh powerful! I’m thinking ‘there will come soft rains’ :) that sand castle might be turned to glass in the blast. Loved this Poem, Donna! Best of luck in the challenge 💖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.