Poets logo

The Red Volkswagen Lady

A Brooklyn Love Story

By Keys WillPublished 11 days ago 2 min read
1
The Red Volkswagen Lady
Photo by Seb Cumberbirch on Unsplash

It was a little past 11 am on a Saturday morning in mid February

My bodys' alarm clock usually woke me up around 9 but I had been up until 4 a.m. fretting about some shit that happened at work the previous day

Snow blanketed the Brooklyn streets, offering a quietness, a stillness, although very brief

The sound of shovels scraping concrete disrupted my sleep

I arose with an air of irritation because it was my day off, and it was TOO early for that shit!

The noise seemed to be getting closer and closer to my house so I sat up to look out my bedroom window

My neighbor from 2 doors down was to blame for the disruption

With a yellow shovel in hand, he eagerly removed snow from the sidewalk and tossed it into the street

Moments after he created a clear path, exposing the concrete underneath, a woman walks out of the house

Her left hand was filled with reusable tote bags and what looked like a jacket draped over right arm

Her right hand gripped a hot cup, presumably with coffee or tea inside

She stops in front of him

Close to his face

They exchange words

They kiss

I let out an “awww” to myself, now invested in my neighbors love life!

She begins walking down the clear path made by my neighbor, heading toward her car

Neighbor scurries in an effort to get ahead of her, opening the driver door

He then opens the back door so she can free her right hand of the items that had been weighing them down

They kiss again, except now she’s able to embrace him

They share the kind of “I’ll miss you hug”

Not like “I’ll see you later on tonight” but "I’ll see you soon, a few weeks maybe”

My heart starts to melt in a similar fashion as the snow on the windowsill I’m watching them through

She gets in and starts the car, letting it warm up

She leaves the driver door open

He holds on to the door,

holding on to the moment

They exchange words for a few minutes

Snow slips down the front windshield

The car seems warmed up

He leans into the car and they kiss once more before he closes her door

He walks away with hesitation

A sadness in his posture, not filled with sorrow but with a hope for her return

He picks the shovel back up and proceeds to help out a neighbor

Maybe, they need to clear a path for a lover too

love poems
1

About the Creator

Keys Will

Poetry is my first love, my first language! With 20+ years on this poetic journey as a Spoken Wordsmith, Lyricist and published author, I enjoy sharing my gift with the world and digesting the messages crafted by fellow poets.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.