Poets logo

Gazebo Nights

A poetic memory

By Tasha McIntoshPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
1
Gazebo Nights
Photo by Yoni Kozminsi on Unsplash

Clearing dried tears with your left hand, you took a drag with the right. Cerulean smoke plumed from your lips, the smoke faded into night.

Tenseness left your shoulders and your cheeks lifted from grin. Still embarrassed you apologise for showing the pains laid within.

Another draw, you form new smoke to rings, then whisper to me you’re afraid of what tomorrow will bring.

You had no more strength for bluster, and your pride ached from scars. No more strength to muster, no more desire to spar.

Fighting the tides left you tired, just to be in the same spot. You asked me directly, if it was worth it or not.

Ash drifted to your side, you gazed awaiting an answer, I raised my eyes to yours, taking a moment to gander.

How could this person, so stoic, so strong. Think for one moment, what they’d done was so wrong?

I took your hand and stood up, pointing to the rain. Suggesting you dance in it, to wash away pain.

Your validation should not come from poisonous snakes. Nor your assuredness waver from their mistakes.

The thunder roars as I continue my speech, your inner soul I attempt to beseech.

After I finish, you’re wrapped in my arms. I promise you surely, you’ll come to no harm.

The sun starts to rise, a new day to do. As we part to go home, I whisper, thank you.

Thank you for reading, this was the first poem I posted to Medium in June 2023. You can find the original here or view my Medium profile here. I'll be uploading new things here, as well as some older pieces.

Friendship
1

About the Creator

Tasha McIntosh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake12 days ago

    Great work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.