Poets logo

The reason I'm a Man

In truth, it’s just a name.

By Gerald HolmesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
40
Photo by Limor Zellermayer on Unsplash

Many years ago

On the day that I was born

I was given a special title

A badge to be worn

****

Naked and afraid

Into this world I came

Mama’s little man

The Title I was gave

****

Many things were taught

And many things were shown

To guide me to be a man

When finally I was grown

****

What makes a man I would ask?

And answers I’d receive

Confusing my young mind

With statements just like these

****

Every time he questions

Every time he cries

Every time he’s angry

Something in him dies

****

Always there’s a reason

Always there’s a ruse

There’s something others see

So far from his truth

****

Many years have passed

And the world is a different place

It seems like social media

Divides the human race

****

What makes me so different?

It’s not some master plan

What makes you question motive?

Is the reason, I’m a man?

****

Is there something in my eyes?

Or something in your brain

That makes you not hear me

Or see I share your pain

****

Our roads are so different

In oh so many ways

But the emotions that you feel

A man feels them just the same

****

Some say I’m entitled

Because I’m male and white

Saying that I don’t understand

The battles that you fight

****

Please understand I do know

Even though you don’t believe

I’m a husband, father, son and brother

To the women that I need

****

I see everything that you see

Just in a different way

Unwanted privilege is a burden

That I carry every day

****

When I was just a little boy

I was shown how to be

A man with a purpose

All the words began with “P”

****

Provider and Protector

The most important ones

Privileged and Predator

Somehow we’ve become

****

Painting us all the same

Is a ridiculous thing to do

Just as truly frustrating

As when it’s done to you

****

Every man is different

Unique in their ways

Shaped by life’s struggles

Each and every day

****

Every person’s childhood

And all the things we see

Molds us like an artist’s clay

Into everything we’ll be

****

So even though we’re different

In some ways we’re the same

For the gender that divides us

In truth, it’s just a name

****

Understanding each other

Is what we need to do

Regardless of my gender

My other half is you

****

One without the other

We could never be

For we’re all part of nature

Just like the birds and bees

****

The women in my life

Have made me who I am

The balance that they gave me

Is the reason I’m a Man.

**********

social commentary
40

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Pamella Richards10 months ago

    Loved this, it's just what I needed at the moment, thank you.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    This is very well worded . Excellent

  • This was so emotional and very touching. Yes, men and women, we are humans. Thank you for writing this! You're amazing!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I can see how Heahter's poem prompted you to revisit this poem of yours. It is very interesting reading these side by side!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    This is so well stated, great job!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Thank you so much for writing this. Men get too little credit for who they are and what they do. Everytime I read something on social media where the guy says they hang onto the last compliment they received, and that compliment was 5 years old or more, makes me so sad. Men are incredible and you, Gerald, are both awesome and courageous to put this out. Here's your 👑 King.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Outestanding Gerald. Just fantastic!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Nice!

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Fantastic! Subscribed.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I love this! You have a way of expressing things that I really enjoy !

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh goodness, I could feel your honesty shining through in this!! What a gorgeous way to say we are all in this together, that everyone is unique and should be treated that way. Thank you so much for sharing this. I appreciate you!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Love this one. So well said. Previously hearted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.