Poets logo

Floating Castles of Home

Home is a place or a feeling they say

By Gerald HolmesPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
30
Photo by deviantvicky deviantart.com

The stillness of thought envelops the calm

The Pod rises up breaching and breaking

The sound of the blowhole welcomes the dawn

As my soul is pulled home with my heart a aching

***

The floating white castle meanders along

With sea birds above and fish plenty beneath

Pure Joy in my heart I feel the whale song

It’s not a performance, they’re here to feed

***

Some haven’t eaten since last summer’s run

Resting and birthing far to the south

Now they’ve returned to join in the fun

To gorge on the buffet, they can’t live without

***

Majestic, they charge up from below

Breaching the surface with athletic panache

Twisting and turning completing the show

Before crashing down with a thunderous splash

***

Here on the coast of the land of my youth

Where waves crash onto a rock covered beach

I see things more clearly, I see the truth

All that I am is within my eyes reach

***

A Circus of Puffins appears flying low

Dropping like stones and crashing in the sea

Funny little sea parrots adding to the show

Clown birds landing being clumsy as can be

***

I watch with wonder the Puffin circus fly

Confused and awed by what I see

At 400 beats a minute, the wings evade the eye

It’s like a flock of footballs diving to the sea

***

The iceberg castle slowly moves along

Blocking the horizon in a wall of white

The salty sea breeze sings a love song

Moving through cracks and holes in the ice

***

A feeling of comfort covers our boat

As I and my wife sit watching the show

Our love reawakened as calmly we float

We slowly come back to the love that we know

***

Her fishing line forgotten behind us trolls

As we’re lost in the beauty of natures reverie

We become one as music enters our souls

The music of the birds, the whales and the sea

***

A message so clear enters my mind

I’ve travelled the world, always alone

Until I met her I could never find

The place I belonged, the place I call home

***

Her line becomes taught, jerking her hand

A flick of the wrist, she sets the hook deep

A thirty-pound Cod is hers to land

She smiles with joy, “tonight we feast”

***

Home is a place or a feeling they say

The feeling is her; she’s all that I am

The place, this island of my childhood days

This place I love, this place

Newfoundland

**

The Puffin. Also known as, Sea parrot or Clown bird.

Photo by Sarah Kilian on Unsplash

love poems
30

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was magnificent! I felt like I was right there with you and your wife watching the birds, the whales and the sea. Loved your poem!

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Absolutely breathtaking! Love this.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Re-read your comforting poem! Loving it!👏💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.