Poets logo

The Price I Pay

Crazy is as crazy does

By Jessica MillerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
The Price I Pay
Photo by Thyla Jane on Unsplash

Kaleidoscope

My life - shards of colors twisting

Patterns of pain endearing

Crazy

Depression sinks, black holes form

Razors! Watch out! Go back!

Hopeless

Life is gray, sadness consumes

Pills in hand - my mind a barren land

Helpless

Rain on summer sunshine, clouds blotting out the mind’s eye

Gun...run away little girl, run away!

Loss

Memories shatter; broken glass

Kaleidoscopic distress

Help! Help!

Screaming soundlessly into the black

What I wouldn’t give to get my life back on track

Despair

No one can hear, no one can know

Why is everyone a foe?

Madness

Circles of thoughts, cycles of pain

There is nothing left to gain

Help! Help!

I scream madly, my voice broken and lost

I scream my pain no matter the cost

Someone answers

A hand is held out, asking for belief

I take it, shaking with relief.

Hope

A golden ray of sunshine touching my black

No more hiding, no more running; I say what I lack

Love

Surrounded by arms, lifting me up

I say it gently, unable to believe...

Rainbows have found their way inside of me!

Peace

It is a cycle new to me

Hopefully it is one that will always be.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Jessica Miller

Where do I start? I have been writing stories my whole life, it feels like. I remember being around 11 when I found books. And it’s all been amazing since then. I get to read, I get to write. I get to see the world through many lenses.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jessica MillerWritten by Jessica Miller

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.