Poets logo

The Preciousness Of A Lost Sandal

Every little moment counts

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 1 min read
7
Image courtesy of Pixabay

A solo stroll along the boardwalk,

Passing a forgotten sandal left by another’s foot,

A silly nostalgia overcomes me,

Will it ever be reunited, or is the owner treading barefoot?

***

Why nostalgia you may ask,

Because I can imagine another stranger’s story,

It’d go something like this,

“Remember when I lost my sandal?” Telling the tale in all its glory.

***

Or will that poor sandal lay forever forgotten,

It’s owner not remembering where it was lost,

I don’t believe that for a moment,

Not unless that sandal was thrown, deliberately tossed.

***

It’s the little insignificant moments,

That later hit us unexpectedly,

The memories, delightful, deliciously painful,

That make us who we are collectively.

***

Do you remember those little moments,

That we thought unimportant at the time,

But then discovered sometime down the track,

How important they were, for whatever reason and rhyme.

***

Maybe that was the last time you walked with the owner of that sandal,

The last memory the two of you made together,

Then life did its thing, as it usually does,

And that day, that memory, is your beautiful forever.

***

Don’t take it for granted,

It’s just a second is all it takes,

We never know when it’s our last,

So treasure those memories that every small moment makes.

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

inspirational
7

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    I will never not be amazed by your talent to come up with poem like this, based on a picture. This was such an emotional poem. I loved it!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Wow, that brought up so many emotions. You have such a beautiful way with words. Loved it!!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is amazing. Love this line "And that day, that memory, is your beautiful forever."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.