Poets logo

The place at the end of the rainbow

A poem

By Bahora Saitova Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The place at the end of the rainbow
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

All my life, I longed to find my home

Searching for somewhere I’ll be welcome

My restless soul always seeking acceptance

But nowhere could I find that sacred place

One day, I stood on the shore

Watching the sun set the ocean on fire

As it rose in the sky majestically

My heart leaped suddenly

For I saw a beautiful rainbow

That was my sign, I could see

I had finally found my abode

On the other side of the sea

I ran after the departing ship,

But I was too late, it left without me.

Its white sail swallowed by the haze

As I stood in a daze.

But I refused to drown in sorrow,

I was going to reach the end of the rainbow.

I built a raft and embarked on my journey

But the sky exploded with thunder

And the raging waves cast me on an island

As I cried and fell on the cold, wet sand

Shivering and broken , I was again lonely and empty

And I watched the stars sparkle as sleep overtook me

I woke from the deep slumber

The sun warm as I stood on the shore

I saw the rainbow shine once more

On the other side of the sea

And I understood finally

That the answers are already inside of me

Storms will come and go

But there will always appear a rainbow

And I felt immense love and tranquility

For home is not a place, but a place I carry

Forever within me

***

Thank you for reading!

Bahora

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Bahora Saitova

Dreamer. Writer. Sees the magic of life through stories and words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.