Poets logo

The Perfect Man

For my dad RIP Daddy

By Cassey AguiarPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
17

The As I drive down this highway mile after mile

As I drive down this highway, mile after mile

I'm thinking about all the things I haven’t done in quite awhile

All of these memories of my childhood keep running through my mind

I can’t believe that your gone, I thought we had so much more time

I can’t believe that just hours from now

I’ll have to say goodbye and I’m just not sure how

Everything that has happened has put my life in perspective

Like the way I was living, and the responsibilities I’ve neglected

Life is fragile, that’s a lesson I’m learning well

But you won’t be coming back and that hurts me like hell!

I can still hear your voice say: “Daddy Loves You” and see the love in your eyes

I hear it over and over and I can’t help but cry

Dad you have always been my hero, you could do ANYTHING I swear

My mom used to say: “Your just like your dad!”, I’d say I didn’t care

I didn’t want to hurt her feelings, but I felt a sense of pride

Because every time I heard those words, I knew that she was right

Your mission in life was to be a good father, and you told me you felt like you failed me

The truth is dad, you didn’t fail at ANYTHING, I hope now that’s something you see

I’m not mad at you, I know your no longer in pain

I know you and Kota are watching over us and all of this didn’t happen in vain

I don’t know how to accept the fact that your really gone

I know that I will have to before long

I will say this now, and it will always stand

That in my eyes Dad

You were the perfect man…

RIP DAD

sad poetry
17

About the Creator

Cassey Aguiar

Hello fellow creators! My name is Cassey and I've always enjoyed writing! I never thought I was really that good, buy Vocal has played a very important role on my road to becoming a writer. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.