Poets logo

The Passage of Time

Time heals all wounds.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published about a year ago 1 min read
12
The Passage of Time
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Pain.

Greif.

Anger

Breathe in, breath out.

Ba-bum, ba-bum, ba-bum.

Tick, tock, Tick, tock.

Time waits for no one.

Time stops for no one.

Time cares for no one.

I blink and I've lost time.

I blink and I've lost faith.

I blink and I've lost love.

Time marches on at its own pace.

Time drags on at its own pace.

Time moves on at its own pace.

In time, I will heal.

In time, I will love again.

In time, I will have faith again.

Everything takes time.

-------------------------------------------

Do you ever feel like not only you're moving in slow motion but simutaneously, the world around you is moving at high speed?

I constantly feel behind and like I never have enough time. I feel like I am always playing catch up. It's hard to take a minute and remember just to breath.

sad poetryheartbreak
12

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    When did I miss this one. Thought I got them all. I know That I read it. But better late than never.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Sadly beautiful, and relatable.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    I felt this one deeply! I spent this weekend visiting my daughter and grand daughters and our conversations centered around exactly this.

  • Until time runs out & there is no longer need for breath or life or love, but simply to remain stopped.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Um, yes, yeah I feel this a lot, lol! That "blink and I’ve lost time" is so relatable. It’s crazy how fast it goes and how slowly our minds keep up. Really like your use of repetition in this one, Donna. The groups of three is working so rhythmically here and it not only sounds good to the ear but allows the emotional heart to hit harder than it would otherwise. That final line "everything takes time" is perfect in solo, a break from the triad pattern. Wonderful uplifting ending, but I feel the pain it stemmed from. Great read.

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    👏☺️ A great piece Donna! I can’t keep up either so I got off the ride, but everything’s still spinning! 😵‍💫

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Sooooo relatable! It really does feel like time has just absolutely blown by like a hurricane. 🤷🏼‍♀️ “I blink and I've lost love.”💔❤️ This was a beautiful poem!

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    This is very relatable and incredibly well described. Stunning work on this one Donna! I love the repeated parts and the general flow and direction you took it in. Know this - you're definitely not alone in feeling the way you do!

  • Mohammed Darasi10 months ago

    Great poem. Time is a shackle we can't really let go of, but our perception can change every now and then; when I was younger it felt time was literally endless.. and now as an adult, there is not time to do anything 😔

  • I resonated deeply with this. I blinked and I lost time, love and faith. But in time, I loved again and had faith again. But again in time, I lost both love and faith. I feel like I'm done. With everything. Loved your poem so much Donna!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.