Poets logo

The orange-head

Finding my true colour

By Debbie OsterhagePublished 3 years ago 1 min read

Red! they said

A shock of a lock on my head

when I was born in a family where it wasn’t the norm

I compare with my hair a ladybird landed up there

At crimson shell and cardinal dome I stare

Then baulk at the sight. My hair is not red, it’s not right

It’s not natures bold warning, a red-light in the night

No colour of stop, luftballoon pop, stain of a fight

Brown! I said

But knew it not true: a shade in stead,

One not so ‘exotic’: camouflage, façade, though slightly quixtotic

For strangers, the world, all joined in the lark

Complicit, conspiring, compliments in the park

Of how lucky, how lovely, how wonderfully RED!

A nod of recognition from another ‘red-head’

Taunts of hot-headed anger, prowess in bed

Yet one day the sun changed colour through smoke

A cloudy day of reckoning awaited when I woke

My sister and I so different in visage, the dark and the fair

Proved shockingly familiar in the genes that we share

A likeness disliked by us both: the early onset of aging hair

Grey I’ll not say!

Not give it its due

It’s even less me than the other darn hue

From the ashes: resolve. I relent. My eyes closed I see

through eyelids when the sun hits my face – its me

It’s there again at the end of the day

when the clouds glow I’ve found my way

It’s streetlights at night, a monarch, my jam,

Now more smoke than flame, it is who I am

Orange! I say

It’s always been there, my hair

Now speak its true name, my name, the one and the same.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Debbie Osterhage

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Debbie OsterhageWritten by Debbie Osterhage

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.