Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The One That Matters Belongs to You

Villanelle Challenge Entry. This stung quite a lot to write. But...the truth hurts. Self-Reflective.

By Paul StewartPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
17
Dall-E and Me made this.

Many the hearts I've trampled through

One that causes me the most guilt

The one that matters belongs to you

*

There are times I wish I could start anew

Scales of my destiny I could tilt

Many the hearts I've trampled through

*

Pain to so many I've caused, it's true

But the one that pierces to the hilt

The one that matters belongs to you

*

Misery and suffering are my just due

I broke down walls that you built

Many the hearts I've trampled through

*

No matter the amount of blood I drew

and blooms I've watched wither and wilt

The one that matters belongs to you

*

Little respect have I worked hard to accrue

When my actions have impacted like silt

Many the hearts I've trampled through

The one that matters belongs to you

*

Thanks for reading!

performance poetrysocial commentarysad poetryheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
17

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    This is proper heart on your sleeve stuff. Oof. Gut wrenching tbh. ❤️

  • Thee & me both, Paul. Piercing.

  • Cleverly written, as always. This sounds like good old repentance... sorrow for the wrong & turning away from it... going in a new direction.

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Paul, you outdid yourself with this beautiful piece. I can’t say any more, it is just wonderful.

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    Perfectly told! And the picture matches to a tee. Very impressive work, Paul!

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Very well done. Beautiful.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    beautifully done

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Ouch. This is great, but ouch! But also there is a realisation there, isnt there, a solid alignment with that one heart.

  • Excellent challenge entry and great to see that it is a real villanelle

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    This is lovely, only in that we know you - and I see a romanticism here amongst the gloom ..works very well with the structure! ☺️👍 Don’t forget self-compassion like we always say, but easier to say than in practise!

  • Some people never realise their mistakes or they would realise but wouldn't regret and there would be no remorse. You've realised, regretted and shown remorse. Don't be too hard on yourself. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Scott Christenson6 months ago

    A powerful poem full of regret, fine writing. This makes me think of mistakes made in my 20s.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.