Poets logo

The Older Man

The Woman In The Middle

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Older Man
Photo by Artem Bryzgalov on Unsplash

We met

When I was

in distress

The last day

of the decade

Ticking away

He gave me

a rainbow cotton pouch

with a silver elephant

The trunk was up

A lucky sign

I knew that moment

the connection was divine

I knew he was destined

to come into my life

He loved me

when I was broken

He helped

put me back together

His sun cooked hands

warmed the aches and pains

The cold wrapped inside

the darkness

faded away

He massaged

the hurt

from my body

He spoke

words of poetry

to my soul





He made me

tea that tastes

like magic

He gave me

chocolate

wrapped in gold

He made me

laugh

with his humor

He made my

heart feel

full

He gave me

medicine

in a brown bottle

He shared

the wisdom

I needed to know



I felt his smile

behind his mask

His hugs were awkward

but they grew warmer

each time we met

He prioritized his love

He sacrificed for it’s worth

He gave me

coconuts

to cure my ills

& sometimes

prioritized

my healing

before his

I was grateful

for his effort

yet insisted

he take care

of himself first

He wants to cure all the hurt

He wants to heal all the pain

He wants to create with me

He wants to share brighter days

He wants to fly me

to his homeland

He wants to show me

Bangkok’s wild city life

He wants me to explore

the jungle he survived

He wants to feed me

honey from the Big Bee’s hive

He wants me to relax

on the beaches of Phi Phi

He wants to take me

to paradise

He wants me to enjoy

the house he built

in the mountains of Shanghai

He wants me to meet

his mama

He wants me

in his life

He loves me

unconditionally

He loves me

more than

he can explain

He doesn’t need

to say it with words

I feel his love’s vibration

He’s touched every bit of my soul

He’s touched every inch of my body

but I’ve never kissed his lips

I love this man dearly

Sometimes I picture it

Sometimes I feel the tension rise

But I’ve never touched this man

He loves me

unwaveringly

He reveres

my heart & strength

He loves me

unconditionally

He is everything

I thought I wanted

So why

am I still

hung up on him?



The younger man

who didn't

care for me

like

the older man

did

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.