Poets logo

One To A Million

Above Average Awareness

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
One To A Million
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

You were the torch

that burned me

in the darkness

as much as you

gave me warmth

Now that you've

smoldered into ashes

I've missed the ways

you lit up my life

Although you hesitated

although you couldn't

say it to my face

you loved me

the best way

you knew how

& I loved the ways

you loved me

although I knew

you were

holding back

Your love taught me

You were a mirror

upon water

Reflections

helped

unbind me

from my past

Yet you were so tired

you were so untrusting

& you were still naïve

You couldn't see

how you

hurt me

You focused on how

I did you wrong

because that made you

more comfortable

than to face the truth

we both fucked up

& no one is perfect

You hurt

the one

you love

You couldn't

believe

the realest thing

you ever felt

would appear

before your eyes

So real

you couldn't

believe

I was sincere

So real

you had to

fill your head

with lies

How could

someone be

so real?

So upfront

in such a

plastic world

where everyone

puts up fronts

just to get ahead

Well baby

I ain't you're average Jane

I'm Sarah Jane

& you'll never forget it

I'm one of a kind

You'll never find

another

just like this

It takes

countless steps of courage

it takes

several leaps of faith

a lifetime of strength

orchestrated with grace

to rise up

from the things

I've experienced

Despite all my trials

I always arise

I summit

each mountain

on my path

with a

victory dance

I emerge

from the darkest

alleyways

illuminating

shadows

It takes a lot

of humbleness

to not be boastful

of my accomplishments

I know I'm legit

there's no need

to say it

Sorry you lost

someone so rare

Sorry you struggled

to see my worth

Sorry you chose

to believe

my authenticity

was as fake

as the next one

Sorry you'll never find

another one

like me

again

Sorry you lost

one

in a million

because

you decided

to compare

a million

of your past hurts

to one

who is different

art
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.