Poets logo

The Old Flame

Who blew it out?

By Lacey DeariePublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
The Old Flame
Photo by Mishal Ibrahim on Unsplash

My perfect shape is gone,

No definition left.

All I could do was burn

but he questioned why and

snuffed me out before I

could damage myself more.

Not realising that

he was the one who lit

me up in the first place.

He examines my left-

over wax, wishing I

was still the same bright light.

His ego warm from fanned

flame, enjoyed the soft scent,

soothed by my glow. But then

extinguished. Cold water,

sizzling wick, the warmth gone.

I smoked onto his tongue.

I smoked into his eyes.

He hated the taste of

what he had done to me.

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Lacey Dearie

Indie author 📚 Blogger 💻 Humanities student 👩🏻‍🎓 Editor of the 27th best blog in Scotland apparently 🏆 Unapologetic daydreamer 😑 Natural introvert/selective extrovert 💃🏻 Member of the Cat Writers Association 🐈‍⬛

Find me on Komi

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rod Kokabout a year ago

    Frickin' amazing, my friend. So glad you're writing poetry and really want to read more!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.