Poets logo

Self-Care

A Poem

By Katerina PetrouPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
Self-Care
Photo by Jong Marshes on Unsplash

What is self-care?

Swaying in the bath like a foetus

attempting to forget my urge to find purpose.

Writing poetry without revealing what I am feeling

because it breaks my mother's heart.

Wearing gold patches underneath my eyes

as they are still puffy from last night.

Drinking coffee from a flute now it has been

six months since I have had a drink.

Is this self-care?

Making waves underneath the water with my fingers

to ripple onto my skin because I miss the sea.

How I believe he was not meant for me

as he did not share this love of mine.

Putting aside that he did not love me back.

Is this self-care?

Holding my head with my hands

so that I do not go so low as to drown.

Ignoring tomorrow and yesterday

and the time I have borrowed.

My supply of sorrow.

Trying not to overflow

and sink my home.

You see how I am still here?

This.

This is self-care.

Mental Health

About the Creator

Katerina Petrou

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a month ago

    What a wonderful perspective to self care. SO much truth and reality in this!

Katerina PetrouWritten by Katerina Petrou

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.