Poets logo

In My Veins

A Poem

By Katerina PetrouPublished about a month ago 1 min read
In My Veins
Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

I only wanted to heal you.

There is nothing more to it.

I did not love you. Or want you.

So long as I had solved your sadness, I would have packed your bags and watch you leave.

But, there was only so much life I had lived to sacrifice for you.

You were not the only patient I held in my heart.

I wanted to heal everybody.

Though, I did not have enough of me to share.

So, I withered.

My future suffers.

The skin I own is translucent and sensitive for I discarded too much of it to bandage the wounds of those in pain.

I swallowed their suffering.

Now it is in my veins.

Mental Healthsad poetry

About the Creator

Katerina Petrou

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Katerina PetrouWritten by Katerina Petrou

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.