Poets logo

The Ocean is Colorless

Keep Going Until Something Makes Sense.

By Jacqueline MarchPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Ocean is Colorless
Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

It is a rolling mass of nothingness… as is my soul.

Feelings of sadness, of wanton despair rush through me as at my empty pallet I do stare.

A picture in my mind’s eye I doth see; I must paint atop this vast hopeless sea.

Life has dealt not one, not two but now three bursts of heartache and pain and gut-wrenching agony.

This Loss I must set aside, a blank pallet it must be to do what must be done. I crave a bit of sanity, humanity and the warmth of the sun.

I feel lost, swirling like an anchorless ship swaying to and fro, no destiny, no where to go.

A rain cloud, a quick summer squall, one last try, I take a knee, please I beg this cannot be. Look down from up high, it is me you espy. Take pity on what you see and return him at once to me.

Suddenly flashes of bright colors are abound, everywhere I look from the ceiling to the ground.

All the colors now stain the wall as if King Triton himself has let out his commanding call.

An exciting shiver is felt when you hear his ominous roar, this mighty king is honorable and true, he was once a soldier who fought and bled for the red, white, and blue.

The ocean is a vast nothingness of despair no more.

Beautiful colors have risen up from the sandy floor and now ride the waves splashing an array of colors from shore to shore.

The soldier of which I speak is the greatest man I know. He has guided me and taught me right from wrong, sadly though now he is gone.

It is my father of which I scribe. this poem sets my feelings free. The colors now to me represent the never-ending love he had for me.

Looking up high if after a rain a rainbow does appear and covers the sky that to me will always be my dad checking in and stopping by just to say hi.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jacqueline March

Wow, where to start. I am a mother, I am 54 years young and now have three grandbabies. I am a full time college student and have self published three novels and am working on my fourth. In every bit of fictions lies a little bit of truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.