Poets logo

Slipping into Umbra

No Return in Sight

By Randy Wayne Jellison-KnockPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
17
Slipping into Umbra
Photo by Nat on Unsplash

Blinded by a hidden light

Deafened by a deluge of thought

How can one without substance

Find themselves eclipsed?

And yet I slip

Obscured from your heart

Naught but penumbral memory

All but lost.

( )

And so I stare

For as long as I must

At your visage annular

Until such time

As I see no more

And my soul evanesce

Into deepest shadow.

sad poetryheartbreakFree Verse
17

About the Creator

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Retired Ordained Elder in The United Methodist Church having served for a total of 30 years in Missouri, South Dakota & Kansas.

Born in Watertown, SD on 9/26/1959. Married to Sandra Jellison-Knock on 1/24/1986. One son, Keenan, deceased.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelly Sibley 8 days ago

    I loved the line "Defend by a deluge of thought."

  • Rachel Deeming9 days ago

    This was exceedingly well done. I, like Dharrsheena, hope you are doing well and want you to know that your presence has been missed.

  • This was so poignantly beautiful. Loved your poem. I hope you're doing well. You've been missing for some time

  • D.K. Shepard10 days ago

    Wow! Incredible word choice and powerfully evoked emotion! Like how this mentioned and exposited on an eclipse but was a refreshing read in its form!

  • Hannah Moore10 days ago

    Beautiful.

  • Gerard DiLeo10 days ago

    Staring at it can make love blind. Great poetry!

  • Great poem! Very well written!

  • So powerful , great words

  • Brin J.10 days ago

    Randy! That last line was a punch to the gut. I literally whispered "omg" out loud and my roommate asked me what happened out of concern, so I had to read this to her. She's equally rendered speechless. Oh, what an impact you've made.

  • Paul Stewart10 days ago

    Stunning, and there you are! Well done, Randy! Good to see you, bud!

  • Wow, exquisite Randy. I have missed you. Hope to be seeing more of you

  • Hauntingly beautiful Randy. You’ve been missed my friend. I hope all is well in your world.

  • John Cox10 days ago

    I absolutely love the use of metaphor in your poem, Randy - Blinded by a hidden light Deafened by a deluge of thought The pacing and rhythm are a delight on the tongue and conceptually profound to boot. Well done!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 days ago

    Beautifully penned, Randy!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.