Poets logo

the move.

i wasn't married to the possibilities as much. i feared the little big things like abandonment and the unrequited. i thought i knew what it was when it started, or atleast everything that i had expected it to be. attachment happened without warning. still, we moved, and kept on living.

By Love ChukesPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2

My humble Rose -

I almost had you in the palm of my hands. And not in the way I held most other lovers - gradually at a distance and with silent uncertainty. But in the way a mother cradled her newborn, still, in awe at another world in her arms. It was better than an arm's reach. I didn't dare breathe too heavy. You looked so good at peace. I wished you gold in your dreams.

When then the waters rushed in, there was no warnings for the storm; white sheets still stirred with fresh hesitations. I always braced for impact and long absences. Time slipped away and the scents washed from cavities. We kissed like rhythm and blues. Stirred words, too good to be true. I strummed my music into the shifting moods. I wanted your nights to myself. I craved you close, even blind. I'd seen the fireworks in the dark of missionary. My lids closed, snappin' images in the mind's eye. I held on for dear life and released control. We rode the wave out and parted. So many trips in long minutes. We had reached farther when both souls were bare. I scratched forget-me-nots into your back, plucked some flowers for your scenery. I drank the water dry. I never wanted a thing, but more time, an underrated gift- did I spend it wisely?

It was my last night in the city. You were still the only face on my mind. What was wrong with me? When did we last meet before that first time? I couldn't pry the peak from my memory. Sparks only came before my work of art, and I had held the body of God's best work. It wasn't mine, but the shoulder fit my head. Love was my every conception. The twist and sudden turns. I had cautioned myself steady, with level-headed debates. I argued the dreamer back into a harsher reality, and still I found you there, desirable. I wished to take you with me; alone together and watching the night fade in.

These attachments - I had latched on too fast, too soon. Feelings felt like facts, impulse rowdy with pure intuition. You were so damn beautiful. You had light in your heart breaking out. You were full like wide mirrors. You were clear without history. You held romance with subtle remorse. I remembered remnants of some lives past. I got lost in my reflections, making way for the distance to tear us apart. It was supposed to be one-night. Anything longer was an invitation for a world of hurt. Forget you, I tried. Trust me, I tried. You were tattooed in my memory, back. Only the needle of a pen could get you out.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Love Chukes

"She wore her heart like high fashion. She had small shame in her game. She wrote with purest intentions. She held her mind to the blame."

I enjoy writing poetry, short stories, sudden revelations, and human confessions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.