Poets logo

The Most Comfortable Time of My Life

My Grandparents

By Just DanielPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Most Comfortable Time of My Life
Photo by Phillip Goldsberry on Unsplash

My grandparents, wow,

more words than I will ever know

to express the magnitude of the influence

they had on my life.

They came from nothing,

they had nothing,

yet they still made

everything work out.

Sure they weren't flawless,

but they were close to being that.

They were the closest anyone could be

to being a perfect being

in my eyes.

I know not everyone in my family

shares the same sentiment,

some thinking of them as stuck-up,

unapologetic, overbearing,

too traditional, freedom-crushers

and "demanding,"

but I just take one step into

their shoes, find out about all their struggles,

all their triumphs, and I eagerly thirst for more

of their stories,

for my time with them was far too short.

They did all they could to provide for their family,

they saw the good in each and every one of us,

encouraged us to be more, to do more

in this land of opportunity called America.

They were extremely thankful for the time we shared together,

each moment a memory burned deep within our skulls.

They were ever so thankful that their family was growing

healthy and strong,

free of pain and troubles,

free of suffering and hardship.

They worked tirelessly, uncomplaining

of all the struggles they had to face,

softening the blow of whatever obstacle sped towards our face.

However, the troubles did not leave us,

your children and your grandchildren,

for we sought those troubles instead.

Sure we can choose

to blame you for our troubles,

but that wouldn't be fair because

we were the troublemakers all along,

some of us wanted nothing to do with family

and that just caused great pain and grief in your hearts.

Most of us are content, being together in each other's company

but some can't stand the sight of each other and vowed

to make the other their sworn enemy.

For what?

For fame and glory, for a sense of independence?

Foolish children, the world does not work that way.

The world does not spin that way.

And try as we might to escape our destiny,

it has a way to find us in the end,

together, with family.

fact or fictionheartbreaksad poetrysocial commentarylove poems
1

About the Creator

Just Daniel

I write short fiction when I have time. There are also elements of my life interwoven with fantasy that I incorporated into my writing. I also like the unknown, so enter into the dark, true, and mysterious if you dare...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.