Poets logo

The Modern Ship

The New Face of Oppression

By JosephGrindPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
3

The Modern Ship

I'll slap a bitch.

When I say a bitch, I'm talkin tricks,

with blind ignorance, and balled up fists.

Getting whipped doesn't have to lead to submission,

but accepting the lie won't lead to transition.

On a mental vacation,

forgot the plantation,

cyanide shots as the master's dalmatian.

Dudes have forgotten.

We're trained to be rotten.

Suits, and a tie, but still pickin cotton.

Whippin niggaz like the first act of Django.

Summer's all gone,

fall back when ya hang though.

When I say "niggaz",

I mean those actin niggardly.

Blurred color lines, and denying liberty.

Black fightin black?

Why focus on shade?

We got the same scars,

and we're still underpaid.

Jealous of mine cause you're thinkin bout yours?

I try to be civil.

You're fightin their wars.

Higher definition's aren't quite clear to see.

Seems 420p?

Upgrade your HD.

The rules have been set.

We were never meant to win.

Hemorrhage our soul,

bleed out from within.

Brainwash your partner, and bribing your kin.

A Trojan horse planted.

Original sin.

The modern day ship switched from physical to mental.

Obstacles strategic with none incidental.

Wanna leave, but we stay.

"White Jesus, I pray".

For a brand new day.

While sympathizers stray.

Scarred from my scars so they just turn away.

Propaganda, and rhetoric, is present so check.

Sparkin anger, and violence while stackin the deck.

They got the shit twisted.

Pride is so lifted.

Demonize the author, but keep the plot scripted?

We contemplate murder.

Please don't judge.

The quality of life can diminish with a grudge.

Take us off your shitlist.

Why I need a witness?

Open hand slap make'em swallow all they chicklits.

Kill, and you banish me.

Keep me from family.

Add a third K, and I see your mentality.

Here's the story:

A lion's lost pride.

Overdue bills, no support, can't provide.

Try to meet ends, take a hustle on the side.

Bogus opportunities, struggle till he died.

What's the alternative?

Ain't much better.

Wallet like vegan,

can't get the cheddar.

His woman's well trained.

She put him on blast.

Popo status-quo head is all gassed.

Stopping his progression is the goal, and the task.

Gotta move slow, while she wanna live fast.

Then the cold shoulder.

Steady gettin colder.

Trained to perfection.

Double agent soldier.

Thinkin bout the shit that they taught, and they told her,

father of her child, an she still fuck him over.

Movin with impunity,

How'd she get immunity?

Sacrifice her man while destroying the community.

Black, in the shackles

A modern day slave.

Forefathers weep,

can't sleep in the grave.

History repeats on a cycle, and a wave.

The only real offer is a concrete cave.

We've come a long way?

It isn't that far.

I still start to sweat when I see a squad car.

I was born a criminal.

That's the depiction, and one of these days, I could "fit the description".

Ignorance is bliss,

and the knowledge you lack is the "crimes I commit" start with me being black.

Stomp my toes bloody.

Scars on my foot.

From walkin through fire, the ashes, and soot.

Each step's pressure.

Buckling the knee.

Some roots wilt.

Can't keep em all free.

We fight the battles.

Our seed reaps the goal.

Value blood diamonds,

comparable to coal.

Smooth dark flesh givin fuel to the soul.

We gotta have change, reparations for the toll.

social commentary
3

About the Creator

JosephGrind

I 've been writing since I was 15

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.