Poets logo

The Mind Healer Asks About My Dreams

Based off of Leonora Carrington. Darvault, c1950.

By DaphsamPublished about a month ago 1 min read
17
Leonora Carrington. Darvault, c1950. Oil on canvas, 80 x 65 cm.

My drugged gray matter grips my hand,

commands me to understand.

Disjointed murmurs spill from my lips,

like a paint can pouring

it's oily tincture.

**

There is a courtyard drenched in olive hues,

before my childhood manor stands,

no gentle breeze whispered here, only pleas.

**

Howling cries from claw-like wooded fingers reach

towards a sickly foggy sky.

Beseeching to be saved from this numbing world.

**

A rhythm of skittering

across the light sage roof,

a tinny clang rings out,

a mad lichen-draped griffin

standing ready to unfurl.

**

Why is he there? The shadow interpreter coaxed.

To protect his charges

or to keep guard

of this scarred yard,

**

The answer is as shadowed

as the long dark hall.

**

Yet, I do see me.

I am the matron in heart's red,

I turn my head,

To the dead,

On tiptoes, sinking into

a carpet of

moist mossy weeds.

**

There are rustles of a father and children,

Playing in the background,

Unraveling the death like whining,

A haunting tease of what never was.

**

It now plays like a record

in this courtyard of the dead,

I want to direct my mini-horses

To cease that untouchable vision before me.

**

My fountain of tears

has frozen into ghostly tree branches.

There is no wanting of the untenable quest;

it should be smudged out.

**

Bells of young girls

swirl and twirl,

Chanting,

"free by degree, free by degree,

don't you agree, don't you agree?"

**

I shake my angel-shaped veiled head,

With a twitch of my whiskers,

And a shivering soft purr,

"I'd rather be in bed than dead,

instead,

the veil for sands

has sealed my eyes shut for good,

and now has led me to this ghostly spread."

Image source: https://www.studiointernational.com/leonora-carrington-the-celtic-surrealist

This was written in a Ekphrastic class about surrealist female artist.

Mental HealthEkphrasticart
17

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist25 days ago

    Very cool!😎

  • Staringaleabout a month ago

    Great work Daphsam.

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Wow! Wow! it was inspirational!

  • Raymond G. Taylorabout a month ago

    Great to see a poetic interpretation of Leonora Carrington. There is one of her works on display at Tate Modern, where I volunteer

  • Sandra Tena Coleabout a month ago

    Wow! Surreal indeed ❣️

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Whoaaaa, you blew my mind with this! Truly well done!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Very well done! ❣️

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Magnificent!!! Loved this!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Quite evocative & apropos to the painting. Well done, Daphne.

  • Kageno Hoshinoabout a month ago

    Well written poem

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Well-wrought! Also, a special nod to you for keeping real human painters work alive in this digital waste! I love this painting and your poetic description thereof!

  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    What a way of portraying death. Descriptions and phrasing were great. I could see all the images.

  • “M”about a month ago

    🫰🏼

  • Dana Crandellabout a month ago

    Marvellously accomplished! You brought life to a difficult piece!

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    What a scene to give voice to! Impressively done! A masterpiece like the artwork that inspired it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.