Poets logo

The Mighty Rush

Sounds of the James River

By April Denise StuartPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
The Mighty Rush
Photo by Salomé Guruli on Unsplash

Rocks in the James,

The river rushes,

The water gushes,

It sounds so sweet,

The plants grow lushly,

Along each bank,

For this beauty,

We have God to thank,

Skipping rock to rock,

Hope to one day build a dock,

By Katherine Auguste on Unsplash

Looking out across the river,

I would hope not to shiver,

The rocks all over the place,

There is a nice smile,

Upon my face,

The railway stays,

I hear the sound,

Across the waves,

See the river well,

The sounds never quell,

I see the sunlight,

Shining down so sweet,

This is a river,

That is never beat,

Please sit down,

And rest as such,

See the James River,

With its mighty Rush.

By Tyler Held on Unsplash

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

April Denise Stuart

I have been writing for awhile and love to share my writing with others. I enjoy writing about Virginia as well as miscellaneous topics.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lena Folkert2 years ago

    Hi, friend! This is a lovely poem! Truly! Very much enjoyed it, and I hope it's okay that I shared it in the Vocal Social Society on Facebook. You should get some reads from that. This one really spoke to me, and I wanted to share it! <3 I'm subscribed too! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.