Poets logo

The mender of my broken heart

A poem

By Karen CavePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
5
Image by <a href="https://pixabay.com/users/kaboompics-1013994/?utm_source=link-attribution&amp;utm_medium=referral&amp;utm_campaign=image&amp;utm_content=762564">Karolina Grabowska</a> from <a href="https://pixabay.com/?utm_source=link-attribution&amp;utm_medium=referral&amp;utm_campaign=image&amp;utm_content=762564">Pixabay</a>

I saw you across the crowded room

You seemed 'lit from within' amidst the gloom

I couldn't see your mouth, only your eyes

Which blazed bright blue, as blue as the skies

You mended my heart, which had broken

I was put to sleep, but now I've woken

In order to see the man who repaired me

But nothing could have quite prepared me

For the jolt of love that I would feel

I know I've not yet seen your face, but still

You're heading towards me and my heart begins to pound

And as you get closer I realise I've found

Not only the surgeon who would perform the feat

Of removing my heart's extra beat

But the man who now gives me a reason to live

Whose hand I want to hold, lips I want to give

Kisses to thank you for all that you've done

You gaze down on me now that the surgery is done

And remove your mask, and smile and say

Your heart surgery was successful, Miss Cave

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Karen Cave

A mum, a friend to many and I love to explore dark themes and taboos in my

Hope you enjoy! I appreciate all likes, comments - and please share if you'd like more people to see my work.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor13 days ago

    I like the extended metaphor of the surgeon here Karen, and the rhyme gives this a nice flow😊 “ Which blazed bright blue, as blue as the skies” is a lovely line, full of imagery.

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Good one! I love the ending of your piece. I have just subscribed as well as I enjoyed your horror tale so much about the peep hole.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.