Poets logo

The Maggot Maiden

A severed finger poem (Dharrsheena's 'True Crime, Horror story & Dark Poetry' group on Facebook.

By Novel AllenPublished 12 months ago β€’ Updated 12 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - May 2023
37
Q

The day began wonderfully. Warmth and peace cascaded from on high

Leisurely, I skipped along the sunlit beach, gathering multi-colored shells

Hoping to find buried treasure, or a pirate's hidden bounty chest

Something shiny caught my eye, I paused, bent to have a closer peek

I picked it up. Guess what?

I dropped it, reeling back in terror

For as I watched, the wretched thing pivoted

Pointing at me, as if accusing me of something ghastly

It was then that I noticed the maggots

Intrigued, I stepped closer, still a bit closer

Consternation turned to fascination

Each maggot attached itself to the other

Like knots on a rope, in perfect harmony

They interlaced, interweaved and interfaced

As if forming a braided, twisted and sinewy limb

Rooted to the spot I stood, I could not move

One by one the maggots wove, faster, faster

Feet, legs, thighs, hips, private parts, stomach

It started to smell, I gagged

Arms appeared, breasts, neck, head and maggoty eyes

I found motion in my feet, turned to run

The hands reached out and grabbed me

The maggots crawled into me, unto me

I felt the cold spidery disgusting feet invade my all

I tried to move, to shake them off, to no avail

I was consumed, eaten up in a soup of stink and maggots

The sun I no longer felt upon my slithering soul

I was now a maiden of puerile maggots and ooze

My transformation is now complete, I seem whole again

My red lips parted as I walked to the water's edge

My reflection was lovely indeed

I was a beauty on the outside

But felt hideous on the inside. I crawled and chittered

Like the maggots invading me from within

A finger fell away with a golden ring attached

Another instantly grew back

Golden ringed fingers were falling everywhere

Soon the world would be filled with those like me

Lovely on the outside

But rotting and squirming on the inside

Beware the beringed severed finger!

surreal poetry
37

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    Oh wow! Congrats on Top Story, I must have missed this! πŸŽ‰πŸ˜Š

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    This was disgustingly good Novel! πŸ˜„I don’t think I’ve read you try horror before! 😊

  • Carol Townend12 months ago

    This is awesome!

  • Erika Ravnsborg12 months ago

    Woah! That gave me the shivers!

  • JBaz12 months ago

    Well don that is descriptively creepy. Congratulations on Top Story

  • Brenton F12 months ago

    That was intense!

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    This is so creepy, so well done. Congratulations on Top Story.

  • This is so beyond my pleasure reading level. But great use of description. I was hoping to see a reference to my favorite song from the movie, "Rock Lobster". Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    My Lord Novel! You rocked the bleep out of this! This is genuis! My hats off 2 u! Congrats on your well-deserved TOP STORY! P.S. Check out Mariann Carroll's latest interview. You may get a kick out of it! πŸ˜‰

  • Shane Dobbie12 months ago

    Nice work. Subscribed

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    This is great. Congrats on the TS

  • Congratulations on your Top story!

  • I love this! Great job, and congrats on the top story

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    😱😱 oh wow! Congrats on your top story!! This was so creepy!

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Great job, but their is a typo, arm should be hand . The arm reach out and grab me

  • That was soooo yucks! And that's a compliment! Because nothing really bothers me but magnets kinda do and now they're gonna take over the world, lol! I love your take on this challenge!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Novel, this was horrifying and gross and thrilling! So well written! I regret that I had just finished eating before I read this, but you did warn me in the subtitle so that’s my bad! Your descriptive language and use of imagery made for an engaging and painfully vivid poem! (Painful in a good way). I appreciate the messaging behind it, that negativity spreads and can be infectious. You can’t see it from the outside but on the inside the intentions of others are always disguised! Great work!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji12 months ago

    Wow interesting visuals you get from that story

  • St. Tiffy12 months ago

    I loved loved this and also loved the banner you used to complete this piece. Really nice.

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Wow!!! This is heavy duty outside and inside!!! Left hugs & a heart!!!πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’•

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.