Poets logo

The Lover

Abecedarian Vocal Challenge No. 3

By Kendall Defoe Published 3 months ago 1 min read
13
Honk, honk...

As I always say, “I love you”.

But, please…

Condoms? For our special night?

Do you really think that’s romantic?

Everybody’s giving them up…

Feeling it is natural…

Gotta say that I am

Having second thoughts now.

I think you don’t care…

Just

Kidding…ha, ha…

Let’s retire to the boudoir

(My friend heard that in a movie).

Not that we can’t do it here…

Oh, I was kidding again.

Please, that was just…

Quitting while I’m ahead

Right now, we should think of us.

So, let’s get down…

Take this and that and…

Uh, I know that

Virginity matters, but

When you mix the XY with the

XX, and XXX...? It is a beautiful thing.

You get those…chromosomes mingling and…and my luv...goes...

ZZZZZZ…

This speaks to me...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

social commentaryRequest Feedbackhumorhow toFree Versefact or fiction
13

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Colleen Walters3 months ago

    I wrote an abecedarian as well and it was a hoot, but I don’t stand a chance against tours lol

  • Colleen Walters3 months ago

    Fabulous, dahling! 😊

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Well, my friend, you had me laughing at the opening image and thinking about the closing one. Everything in between was really clever! Great job, Lamar!

  • A. Lenae3 months ago

    This is so smart and feels like a rhythmic and natural avalanche of clever 'fuck-boi' reasoning. No formulaic rigidity and not even a line where I once thought "that was a reach." So well done, so entertaining!

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Very witty, and I liked the natural flow of the words!

  • Catherine Nyomenda3 months ago

    Woooooaaaa!!! ❤️❤️❤️

  • XY, XX and XXX!!! Hahahahaha that was a good one! Loved your Abecedarian!

  • Mariann Carroll3 months ago

    Brilliantly made

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Ok...I have to agree with Boy George on this one...lol

  • D. J. Reddall3 months ago

    Very clever!

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    This is so fun! Awesome abecedarian!

  • Honk! Honk! Yep, that sounds about right.

  • Steel3 months ago

    There’s someone out there for everyone bro. Nice.

  • Real Poetic3 months ago

    Kendall, this made me laugh. Well done.

  • Lana V Lynx3 months ago

    Sex as the highest form of communication between two loving people is hugely underestimated. Nice poem!

  • Rene Volpi 3 months ago

    Kinky...kinky. 😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.