Poets logo

The Little Death

A Poem

By Rauce The-saucePublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

This dull ache fills the void in the pit of my stomach with warmth.

The smell of her perfume. The taste of her skin.

Here we are again, tangled between sheets,

Like ensnared rabbits, caught between thickets.

Struggling to live.

To feel free.

Even though nothing matters more than her eyes.

The swirls and darkness and clouds that live there.

As I breathe, labored. Inhaling the wind of her lungs.

We shake together, not in fear, but pleasure.

Exploring what it’s like to feel human.

Our secret wars.

Our longing lies.

We have given arms to promise.

Invaded our hearts with beauty.

If only I didn’t feel so cheap after.

But for a moment, I felt so alive.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rauce The-sauce

I am a writer, poet, musician and aspiring novelist. I have finished a rough draft of my first full length novel and am working on rewrites and editing. I work full-time with adults with special needs and love my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.