Poets logo

The Light

A Poetic Reflection

By Kayla LindleyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
The Light
Photo by I.am_nah on Unsplash

As I stand here over looking my cold and dreary life,

I see disappointment over shadowing the light.

Broken mirrors are shattered everywhere,

I hate the way I look,

Because no one has ever cared.

Demons have clawed and shredded away,

Most of the hope that once got me through the day.

But demons don't have a hold on me,

Not as tight as before,

Because one man cared enough to step through my unhinged door.

Get up and walk,

It isn't the end of the world,

brush yourself off and see there is love for you my girl.

Come and look,

Walk with me, and soon you will understand my empathy.

He rubbed my eyes and turned me around,

There you see,

There is no longer dreary but happiness.

Don't you see?

There is love for you, in your family, your friends, even me.

I have felt the same way before,

When I was young and four.

I was confused and lost,

Like a puppy waiting to come home.

I was a stranger in their eyes,

and darkness covered my eyes.

But sometimes instead of not knowing there is darkness covering the eyes,

We just flat out refuse to see the light.

So what do you say?

Let me be your light.

For more insight on content like this, or you love short stories please consider subscribing to my page! Leave a like, and let me know what you loved or didn't love- feed back is really important to help me grow!

-Kayla

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Kayla Lindley

Kayla is a neuro-spicy single mom, and writing is her therapy. When she isn't writing, Kayla is out collecting crystals, growing her sticker collection, and hiking in the mountains of Northern Washington with her Corgi Morty.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • world penabout a year ago

    nice story

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Very effective. Your poem relates a whole life story in its little length. Pretty impressive work there!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.