Poets logo

The last step

just an idea

By emaPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
6
The last step
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

You asked me to stay,

but I don't care about you anymore

cause you burned our pages,

you mistook diamonds for fake crystals,

you let me fall into the void for ages.

I looked for you in the dark

without any sign of help,

you said it's everyone for themselves

and now that I'm going ahead

you want to hold back my last step.

---

thanks for reading, just a little idea from the past.

You may like also :

heartbreakFamily
6

About the Creator

ema

I invent stories, sometimes they need to be written.

Carpe Diem Tempus Fugit.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • TheSpinstress2 months ago

    Extremely relatable - some people only value you when you're halfway out the door, but we need to leave anyway.

  • Jazzy 2 months ago

    MMMM when they finally come around and you've had enough. Very well done

  • Omgggg omgggg omgggg this was so relatable because it happened to me! I'm so sorry that it happened to you as well 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • John Cox2 months ago

    I love how the image you selected works with the poem, the booted foot splashing in the water a deliberate choice, just like the decision to leave. I especially loved the potency of these lines: but I don't care about you anymore cause you burned our pages and you said it's everyone for themselves and now that I'm going ahead you want to hold back my last step Your poem seems simple on the surface, but a deep lake on a calm day can be deceptive as well. This poem contains vast deeps. It's almost too hard for some to distinguish between 'us' and 'me,' and that's their loss.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.