Poets logo

The Last Slice of Pizza

poems about her

By Kale RossPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
6

She is the sugar in my veins,

and the salt in my wounds.

She is always the bullseye

to all of my bad ideas.

She is addicted to espresso from Mexico,

Frank Sinatra classics, and antique radios.

She makes my heart sizzle, like a hot skillet

doused in bacon grease drizzle.

I chased her tangerine curls through apple cider corn mazes,

watermelon swamplands, and blueberry rainforests.

Only to find her easting strawberries fermented in

maple syrup mead in Vermont with Maine tourists.

She is like the last slice of pizza,

the first shot of tequila, and a

cocaine-rimmed margarita.

She is the Polaroid I stashed inside

of an old wine bottle, and gave to the sea ...

the same damn bottle the moon

continues to return to me.

sad poetrysurreal poetryslam poetryperformance poetrylove poemsinspirationalhumorheartbreak
6

About the Creator

Kale Ross

Author | Poet | Dog Dad | Nerd

Find my published poetry, and short story books here!

https://amzn.to/3tVtqa6

https://amzn.to/49qItsD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam5 months ago

    What a creatively, beautiful poem!

  • Oooo, this was so amazing! Loved your poem!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    Nice 🤍💙🖤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.