Poets logo

The last object

Echoes in a Teacup

By BuzuPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
2
The last object
Photo by Chris Gallagher on Unsplash

I stand, a lone sentinel, in dust and whispering weeds,

A tarnished teacup, chipped and worn, where laughter used to breed.

My china skin, once smooth and bright, reflects the dying sun,

A shard of memory from a life that's tragically outrun.

I recall hands, so warm and strong, that cradled me with care,

Steaming mornings, gentle sips, a love beyond compare.

The clinking symphony of spoons, the murmur of soft speech,

A symphony of human life, just out of silent reach.

I've witnessed birthdays, whispered jokes, and tears that stained my rim,

Celebrations, quiet moments, a love that burned so dim.

The house, once vibrant, filled with warmth, now echoes with despair,

A hollow shell of what it was, a burden I must bear.

The wind whispers tales of vanished days, of lives cut short and fast,

A chilling silence hangs like fog, a future that won't last.

I yearn for the touch, the warmth, the murmur of a name,

But solitude's my only friend, a lonely, hollow game.

Yet, in the quiet of the night, beneath the watchful moon,

I dream of hands that lift me high, a gentle, joyful tune.

Perhaps one day, a different touch, a world reborn anew,

Will fill this cup with life once more, with hope, and morning dew.

nature poetryinspirational
2

About the Creator

Buzu

Verses sculpted from the heart, I'm a poet navigating emotions with ink-stained fingertips. Crafting tales that dance between reality and dreams, my words paint a symphony of feelings in the canvas of life. 📜✨ #PoetLife #Wordsmith

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.