Poets logo

The last Goodbye

English

By Unique BeccaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The last Goodbye
Photo by Leon Seibert on Unsplash


"The Last Goodbye"

In the quiet of the night,
When the stars are shining bright,
And the moon casts a silver light
On the world below,

I sit and think of you,
And all the things we used to do,
And how I wish that I knew
What I could say or show.

We used to laugh and play,
And talk the hours away,
And dream of things that someday
We'd make come true.

But now you're gone from me,
And though I try to see
A future where we'll be
Together once more, it's true

That life has other plans,
And sometimes hearts and hands
Are forced to take different stands,
And leave behind what's due.

So I'll take this moment here,
And let my heart shed a tear,
For the love we once held dear,
And the joy we knew.

And though we've said goodbye,
And the world goes rushing by,
I'll hold your memory nigh,
And cherish it anew.

For in my heart you'll stay,
A love that won't decay,
A flame that will light the way,
And guide me through.

So farewell, my love, goodbye,
Though we may never see eye to eye,
Know that in my heart you'll lie,
Forever true.

sad poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.