Poets logo

The weight of memories

English

By Unique BeccaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
The weight of memories
Photo by Anna Jiménez Calaf on Unsplash


Title

Memories weigh heavy on my soul
Like stones in a sack that I can't let go
They pile up high, and I feel the toll
Of all the moments I've come to know

Some memories are light as air
A laugh shared with a friend so dear
A sunny day without a care
That fills my heart with joy and cheer

But others feel like a heavy chain
That drags me down with all their pain
A love lost that still remains
A broken heart that won't refrain

And though I try to leave them behind
These memories stick, they always find
A way to come back, and remind
Me of what I've left behind

So I carry them with me every day
The weight of memories that won't go away
Some bring me joy, some make me sway
But they're all a part of who I am today

And though they may be heavy to bear
These memories are what make life so rare
A treasure trove that we all share
Of moments that we've loved and cared

So let them weigh heavy on your soul
And know that you're not alone
For we all have our stories to be told
And our memories to call our own

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.