Poets logo

The Last Drink

Giving It Up in Three Haikus

By Kendall Defoe Published 6 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
14
The Last Drink
Photo by Vinicius "amnx" Amano on Unsplash

Note: just to nip this in the bud, I do not have a problem with alcohol, but I have seen the effects of dipsomania and addiction in certain relatives and friends. It might seem odd for a Smooth challenge, but I think I have made a point. - K.D.

Cool and refreshing;

But hard to give up…for her.

Tastes great; less filling.

By Jack Dong on Unsplash

This Bud’s for you, sir…

Even if she said, “I’m done.”

Absolut Divorce.

By Bermix Studio on Unsplash

No joking this time.

Unnecessarily said...

Her hope becomes yours.

He would know...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

excerptssocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetrylove poemshumorfact or fiction
14

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Creative and true. A tough subject to write about. You did it very well.

  • Excellent poem. Unfortunately, all too true to life.

  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    I shed a tear. This is beautifully done. 🩵👏🏼

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    I have an older brother that I watched go through it. Hard to witness, but an important lesson. You made the point very well.

  • Mark Gagnon6 months ago

    Several of my relatives have had this problem. Not a pretty sight. Well done!

  • NJ6 months ago

    Well done!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    I've seen this go both ways! Nicely made point.

  • That was a very positive ending! I loved your set of Haikus!

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    These Senryus are great

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Smooth Senryu!!! Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.