Poets logo

The Kiss of Despondency

A story of unlived loss

By Giordano JosephPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
2
The Kiss of Despondency
Photo by Mykhailo Kopyt on Unsplash

Satin memories dance across my lips as I am wistfully taken back to a time long past.

Oh how the pain of loss sticks to your soul, like a melancholy companion.

A kiss so soft, so tender. Lips, smooth as the petals of the azalea, once left dew on my neck like that of an early fall morning.

Now I am left alone. Only knowing this kiss within the confines of a fool’s paradise.

I awake from my trance, my bones aching for the velvet touch that I once knew. The physical manifestation of a transcendental love.

The pain may pass, but the ecstasy of embrace will walk with me all my days.

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreakfact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Giordano Joseph

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    Aww, this was sad. But very beautifully written.

  • This hit me so hard as this is how I feel everyday. It was extremely relatable!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.