Poets logo

The irony of the birds

dawn will break

By Ward NorcuttPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3
The irony of the birds
Photo by Jacques LE HENAFF on Unsplash

In my imagination vast

I hoped to write a poem to last.

One to touch the hearts of all

that they might walk my inner hall.

*

I wrote of trees that line my yard.

Side by side they all stand guard,

and I have come to know the face

of four of them behind my place.

*

I scoured the reaches of my mind:

one looks like a skinny hind,

on its left, a woeful pig,

on its right, two birds of twig.

*

As I was writing of the birds,

seeing how to write the words,

one flew at me and hit its head

on my pane and fell quite dead.

*

I was deep and trapped in thought.

It struck the glass like it was shot.

I jumped because it frightened me.

I heard the thump but did not see.

*

“Oh no!” I cried, forgotten lost

Truth attained; the only cost

a quiet bird upon my deck

with empty eyes and broken neck.

*

Is there meaning in its death?

Should I try to give it breath?

And if I try, am I a fool?

Is there no such thing as cruel?

*

The birds fly on and past my sight.

The day will wane and bring the night.

And dawn will break as did the bird,

not caring if I write a word.

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Ward Norcutt

Playwright and poet.

My goal as a writer is to write thoughtful pieces of prose, poetry and stage plays. Hopefully, the end results are entertaining and engaging, with layers of meaning that make sense to the whole or a theme therein.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    This poem leaves a lasting touch on my heart. I've seen other iterations of this theme in your work, and this one impacts me not only as a reader but also as another writer. There is a cost to turning from our senses to the inner eye and outward again through words. But in return we have this poem. The dawn may not care if you write another word, but we do.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!! Loving it 💕😊💖

  • Ash Taylorabout a year ago

    Absolutely fantastic, as always. I love the juxtaposition of the dawn breaking like the bird. Beautiful and solemn.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.