Poets logo

The Introduction (Blobachops)

A poetic praise of a treasured memory.

By J. R. LowePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
4
Baby 'Blobachops'

Author's Note: It's that time of year again when poets band together and surf their keyboards to pay homage to that little thing called love. But unfortunately, every year, too many poets seem to confuse the broader term of 'love' with added connotations of lust and desire, and we seemingly forget that love is distinctly different to these relatively myopic words. It's so much more than that.

Love is an intense feeling of deep affection that is not limited to a lover, a partner or a muse, and doing so would not fully encapsulate the true meaning of love. The Introduction (Blobachops) makes an effort to break free from the narrower definitions of love, and seeks to capture one of the most special and pure moments a child can ever experience: the moment they first laid eyes on their baby sibling. For me, this was love at first sight.

***

A blur of blue and grey passes while I survey.

I see a familiar figure by the window

As my eyes scan the hospital bay.

I storm over in hot pursuit,

Of this stranger who stole my mother away.

***

I lunge at her with a hug, and in my startled voice I say,

"Where were you? Are you alright? Is everything ok?"

Mother smiles and says, "I'm fine, but there's someone that you must meet."

A chill runs down my spine, and my ears can feel my heartbeat.

***

I peer into the wrapped blanket,

Expecting a ghoul, a demon, a monster,

But alas you're not what expected,

This mother-stealing beast,

Looked like an angel at the least!

***

Round cheeks and blue eyes,

Like oceans and clear skies.

They tell me you're carefree, but not careless.

Mischievous, but not reckless.

And for a moment,

I'm breathless.

***

Just like that I am disarmed.

My knees begin to tremble,

And I can't help but feel so charmed,

By your smile and your perfection,

As I hold you in my arms.

***

It was almost instantaneous, much like a titration.

A moment of pure love,

Of fasciation,

And utter admiration

Of something so pure.

It was a moment of true perfection.

***

"We'll call him Blobachops," I say,

As I look upon his face,

"Because of his chubby cheeks,"

As I try to build my case.

Mother chuckles lightly,

"It really is a shame,

But this is your baby brother,

And he already has a name."

***

I came here looking for a fight,

In the hospital's North-West end,

But much to my delight,

There was no monster full of spite,

But a new-born baby, a brother, and a best friend.

love poems
4

About the Creator

J. R. Lowe

By day, I'm a PhD student, by night.... I'm still a PhD student, but sometimes I procrastinate by writing on Vocal. Based in Australia.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    That is just beautiful. It's how I felt when my baby brother was born.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.