Poets logo

The Inner Demon

The void

By Daniel ClarePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I stare into the defining quiet of the black abyss.

Staring into the soul of the universe, when a hand clasps mine.

A cold, clawed hand, a unwanted comfort.

The figure caped in night and breathing cold.

It turns to me and hisses “I will always be here.

For I am you” I shiver at the promise. The figure smiling a cold evil smile.

“I’m the worst parts of you. I’m everything you hate about yourself.

Every lie you’ve told, every person you hurt, every corrupt thought you’ve ever had.

I am the personification of your sins, your inner demon.”

It was right, my demon will always be there to offer me cold comfort.

But then a hand of light, a warming presence puts its hand on my shoulder.

“nothing will steam the storm that is coming. You will not survive”

The voice calling to me, trying to stop the warmth and love.

I turn to my demon, smiling my terrible smile back

“I am the storm. I am stronger then you think, I cannot be kept down”

As I follow the warmth and love, as I follow the words of my family and friends

My demon calls to me in a whisper “you will be back, you always are. And when you do

I will be here to put you together again.”

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.